My David Lynch dream

I’ve told the story before of how I met John Carpenter in my dreams. Afterwards, I thought it would have been much more appropriate for David Lynch to appear instead. After all, his films are full of references to dreams and often have a strange, dream-like atmosphere. Well, I eventually got my wish.

In my David Lynch dream, the legendary film director was sitting at a desk teaching a class. I’m not sure what kind of class it was; with David Lynch in charge I figured it was probably something strange and unconventional that he got to decide on himself. In my waking hours, I’d been seeing adverts on YouTube for a class on Creativity and Film that David Lynch made, so it was pretty obvious why he appeared as a teacher here.

We live inside a dream!

Phillip Jeffries, Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me

I sat down in the class myself and started to listen to him. Even asleep, I thought Lynch’s appearance in my dream must be important. After all, he was another respected figure like John Carpenter, except this time it was a director heavily associated with dreams. Surely if anyone could give me an insightful dream, it was him.

God, I love this music. Isn’t it too dreamy?

Audrey Horne, Twin Peaks

Lynch didn’t have much of a plan but seemed confident that something would come of it. This detail seems very authentic to his approach to creativity in real life and I’m glad that my dream was able to portray him properly. Soon, we were dancing in a conga line through the classrooms. Once again, I wasn’t sure where this was going but I was happy to trust the process.

If my dream had a meaning, I think it’s this: don’t worry too much about having a plan, just get started and you’ll find what you seek!

Thanks for reading,

Kenneth Dunlop

Published by Kenneth Dunlop

Earth's Mightiest Game Designer. Making Super Space Galaxy, an open-world space shooter. Previously made Super Space Slayer 2 for Google Play.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started